Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Rock > Alternative > Jane’s Addiction – Live Voodoo (2010/Eagle Blu-ray)

Jane’s Addiction – Live Voodoo (2010/Eagle Blu-ray)


Picture: B-     Sound: B     Extras: C+     Concert: B-



From the Fuse Fest comes the latest comeback of one of Rock Music’s last great band, Jane’s Addiction.  Live Voodoo was taped on Halloween 2009 and features the original lineup, save Duff McKagan (Velvet Revolver) as their new bassist and fitting in just fine.  Perry Farrell is back singing, Stephen Perkins drumming and Dave Navarro (after his time with Red Hot Chili Peppers) on guitar and the chemistry is as solid as ever.


Songs include:


1)     Up The Beach

2)     Mountain Song

3)     Ain’t No Right

4)     Three Days

5)     Whores

6)     Then She Did…

7)     Been Caught Stealing

8)     Ocean Size

9)     Ted, Just Admit It

10)  Summertime Rolls

11)  Stop!

12)  Jane Says

13)  Chip Away



A lucky 13 songs for the holiday.  This band shames so many newcomers, yet they have been around for 25 years already (wow!) and Farrell still has the voice to go with the playing.  This is one of the best concert Blu-rays of the year and as far as Rock genre is concerned, up there with the recent Chickenfoot Blu-ray for overall quality.  We recommend both to serious Blu-ray music fans.


The 1080p 1.78 X 1 digital High Definition image has fine color, but also some noise and motion blur, but I liked the presentation and was pleased for the most part despite the flaws.  The DTS-HD MA (Master Audio) lossless 5.1 mix is better than the Dolby Digital 5.1 and PCM 2.0 Stereo also included, bringing out the best in the music and performances with a consistent soundfield, rich sound and warmth missing from many live recordings we have encountered lately on Blu-ray.


Extras include a booklet with tech information, illustrations & brief essay on the band, while the Blu-ray disc adds a Photo Gallery, NME featurette and two more live tracks: 1% and Ocean Size.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com