Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Western > TV > Have Gun – Will Travel: The Fourth Season, Volume One (1960 – 1961/CBS DVD)

Have Gun – Will Travel: The Fourth Season, Volume One (1960 – 1961/CBS DVD)

Picture: B-     Sound: C-     Extras: D     Episodes: A

The classic returns in this, the first half of the fourth season on DVD.  Presented here are the first 19 episodes to the fourth season of Have Gun - Will Travel.  The series, so well known for the superb talent it would attract from many of the day’s top TV script writers, also drew in many noteworthy guest stars.  Appearances in this volume include excellent turns from the likes of such actors as Robert Blake, George Kennedy and others.

While the first three seasons were sold in complete volumes, this set marks the first departure from that format - splitting this season’s episodes evenly between this and a second volume, which has also been covered on this site.

Remarkably, this show is still fresh four seasons in.  As in earlier seasons, the writers have done a commendable job at keeping things interesting for our hired gun.  His cool demeanor and desire to solve situations with brain power and logic before resorting to a weapon ensure that no matter what the situation is, it will always be a joy to watch.

The episodes contained in this volume are as follows.

1) The Fatalist
2) Love’s Young Dream
3) A Head of Hair
4) Out at the Old Ballpark
5) Saturday Night
6) The Calf
7) The Tender Gun
8) Killing of Jessie May
9) Poker Fiend
10) Crowbait
11) Marshal’s Boy
12) Foggbound
13) The Legacy
14) The Prisoner
15) The Montebank
16) Sanctuary
17) Quiet Night in Town, Part I
18) Quiet Night in Town, Part II
19) Princess and the Gunfighter

The picture is in black and white, with its original 35mm full-frame aspect ratio of 1.33:1. While it isn't perfect, it is crisp, with few examples of neglect or careless transferring.  The audio track provided is in Dolby Digital 2.0 Mono, and while not as great as the video, it is pretty good for its age.

There are no extras on these discs, and while that is a shame, you're still getting some bang for your buck, as there are nearly 20 episodes here to enjoy.  There are at least summaries and original airdates listed on the artwork as a reference accompaniment to your viewing.

I recommend this volume to any fans of the series, or western fans in general who have yet to check this show out.  For those who are uninitiated, grab this set - it is essential viewing.

-   David Milchick


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com