Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Jazz > Instrumental > Piano > Standards > Concert > Leslie Pintchik Quartet Live In Concert (2010/PintchHard Blu-ray/CD + DVD/CD) + Leslie Pintchik – We’re Here To Listen (2010/PintchHard CD)

Leslie Pintchik Quartet Live In Concert (2010/PintchHard Blu-ray/CD + DVD/CD) + Leslie Pintchik – We’re Here To Listen (2010/PintchHard CD)


Picture: B-/C+     Sound: B     Extras: D     Concert/Music: B+



A very talented pianist, Leslie Pintchik is back with her first Blu-ray, her first DVD and her first concert, plus her third studio album.  As impressive as ever, The Leslie Pintchik Quartet Live In Concert is one of the best Jazz Blu-rays to date, running an hour and offering about an hour of Pintchik, Scott Hardy on Bass, Mark Dodge on Drums and Satoshi Takeishi on Percussion.  A very engaging program, the smooth, tight set includes:


1)     Scamba

2)     Over Easy

3)     Completely

4)     Blowin’ In The Wind

5)     Mortal

6)     Too Close For Comfort

7)     Somewhere/Berimbau



It is nice to know that a music artist you like is also great in person and Pintchik has a great personality and talks to the audience throughout, with truly witty, funny comments that show that this is an artist with something to say and share.  The more you watch, the more you want to see.  The more I see and hear her work, the more I realize she is one of the most underrated artists in the music industry and her fellow musicians are just as top rate.  Their work is enough to make you love Jazz all over again and could bring new fans to the genre.


This extends to her new studio album, We’re Here To Listen, which includes the following tracks:


1)     Blowin’ In The Wind

2)     I Can't Make You Love Me

3)     There You Go

4)     Completely

5)     In The Wrong Place At The Right Time

6)     Wabi-Sabi

7)     For All We Know

8)     Ripe

9)     Discreet

10)  Ancient



So what is the common denominator between these latest releases and Miss Pintchik’s previous studio albums that make them so good?  It is several things.  She is just that good, that talented and obviously loves what she is doing, very much like Diana Krall is totally in her element and then some when she is on.  I wish they’d do a duet of some kind!


And it also seems she is getting even better as a musician and performer, which is saying something since she was so talented to begin with, so these latest releases show her artistic growth and if you have never heard her or heard of her, this is the time to try out her work.  As usual, she delivers some of the best music of the year.



The 1080/24p 1.78 X 1 digital High Definition image on the Live Blu-ray does look better than the anamorphically enhanced 1.78 X 1 image on the DVD version, both with good, stable HD-shot images, but we do get slight motion blur, yet is it not as bad as the many 1080i concerts we have covered to date (at least 100+) on Blu-ray alone.  I liked the color on the Blu-ray in particular and the director and camera operation is solid enough.


All discs offer PCM 2.0 Stereo, meaning we get no multi-channel mixes this time (though a DTS-MA 5.1 and/or 7.1 lossless mix would have been amazing), but I liked the PCM 48/16 Stereo on the Blu-ray best because it was a little smoother than the DVD and CD (at 16/44.1) versions, while the studio album CD Listen (also at 16/44.1) in both sets is just fine for the format.  The Listen CD is another top rate studio recording and Pintchik continues to make some of the best Jazz recordings in the business.  None have any extras, save the CDs with the video formats, but the music is so good, you’ll play it over and over again.


Cheers to another set of triumphs for Miss Pintchik!  Can’t wait to see and hear what she does next.



Read more about Pintchik’s previous studio albums in exceptional Super Audio CD (SA-CD) editions at these links:


So Glad To Be Here







You can also visit her website about ordering all of her titles and even acquiring downloads, which include very nice 96/24 Stereo versions of her latest album at this link:





-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com