Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Soul > Compilation > TV > Soul On Fire (Ohne Filter)

Soul On Fire (Ohne Filter music compilation)


Picture: C+     Sound: B-     Extras: D     Music: B-



We have covered so many volumes of German TV’s Ohne Filter TV series that it is sometimes hard to decide which to recommend, though we all have our favorites.  With such a proliferation of titles already issued, Inakustik has issued a compilation of tracks form 13 different releases called Soul On Fire and it finally gives the many unfamiliar with the show a chance to get to experience it better.


Running longer than any single volume released to date, the sample concert performances are as follows:


1)     Poetry Man – Phoebe Snow

2)     The Gift – Joe Louis Walker & The Bosstalkers

3)     Pale Spanish Moon – John Miles

4)     Bitter Moon – Mark King (of Level 42, the best track here)

5)     Sign Your Name – Terence Trent D’Abry (before name change, see review)

6)     I Put A Spell On You – Bill Wyman’s Rhythm kings

7)     Do Be Down – Curtis Mayfield

8)     Daisy Jane – America

9)     Close To The Truth – Tony Joe White

10)  I’d Rather Go Blind – A. Strehli/S. Brown/M. Ball

11)  Frederica (I Don’t Need You) - Walter Trout

12)  Warm Rain – Ian McLagan

13)  Souls On Fire – Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes



Even at this point in time, most of the entire episodes each song comes form have been reviewed elsewhere on this site, with more on the way.  Most of the choices are not bad, though some of the lesser shows were skipped, but the America program is technically the weakest.  It is still a good sampling that everyone should check out, especially if they have never seen the show.


The full frame 1.33 X 1 image varies throughout from song to song, but is more often clearer and later PAL taping material than not.  The sound is here in both Dolby Digital 5.1 and PCM 2.0 Stereo mixes, as is the case with all the regular titles in the series.  Again, the sound leans more towards the better installments, but you can learn more specifics by again visiting the individual reviews elsewhere on this site.  This has the poorest extras of any DVD in the series so far, only offering an alphabetical list of most of the titles issued to the date of this release in 2003.  Why it does not repeat the text biographies on each artist is odd, since that would not take up hardly any space at all.  At least this runs about 70 minutes, and not the less than an hour the regular shows do.  Soul On Fire is one of the better compilation possibilities they could have issued and it is a nice convenience for the consumer to have this viewing option.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com