Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Rock > Blues > TV > Edgar Winter & Rick Derringer (Ohne Filter)

Edgar Winter & Rick Derringer (Ohne Filter)


Picture: C+     Sound: B-     Extras: C+     Concert: B-



In one of the more interesting installments of the German music concert series Ohne Filter, the March 30th 1990 taping features the pairing of Edgar Winter and Rick Derringer.  Both veterans of Rock music beginning in the late 1960s, Winter had million-selling albums with his Edgar Winter Group that Derringer played on, including Roadwork (1972), They Only Come Out At Night (1973, featuring their seminal chart-topping instrumental hit Frankenstein and the ever-energetic Free Ride) and Shock Treatment (1974), the latter of which is when Derringer joined the band outright.  Derringer was also their producer in all this, having had several hits in the mid-1960s with the Pop/Rock band The McCoys, whose hits included Hang On Sloopy and a remake of the popular Little Willie John classic that was a bigger hit for Peggy Lee and a more recent hit for Madonna.  Derringer had an early solo hit classic with Rock And Roll, Hoochie Coo, which would have made him a one-hit wonder if he had not charted otherwise.


This is a reunion concert that is better than expected, with Derringer’s voice still in decent shape and Winter also sounding good.  That is a plus, but the fact that these guys can all still play and try to do them in a slightly different form is a plus.  The songs here include:


1)     Keep Playing That Rock-N-Roll

2)     Free Ride

3)     I Play Guitar

4)     Cry Out

5)     Hang On Sloopy

6)     Tobacco Road

7)     Rock-N-Roll Hoochie Coo (spelled differently here)

8)     Frankenstein



Once again, it would have been nice if they could have went on longer and come up with some more gems out of their collective catalogs, but this fills the under-hour timeslot nicely and is consistent with something good to offer throughout, so it does not get boring at any point, something most new bands cannot claim.


The full frame PAL color video is what one would expect for a taping of this age, with some good color, but definite limited definition.  The sound is available in 16bit/48kHz PCM CD-type Stereo and Dolby Digital 5.1 AC-3, which are about even in this case with some depth in the 5.1 here, as heard in the Mark King and Tony Joe White DVDs from the series, reviewed elsewhere on this site.  Too bad this one was not in DTS, but it may be one of the programs that qualify for the new Ohne Filter SACD series, so we’ll look forward to that.  The same extras are here as on other DVDs from this series, repeating the same stereo cords plug, other DVDs in the series, and Ohne Filter producer interview, it’s biography text squeezes both performers in the same place.  Fans will especially enjoy this one.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com