Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Rock > Progressive Rock > Art Rock > Yes - House Of Yes (Concert)

House Of Yes – Live From The House Of Blues (Concert)


Picture: C+     Sound: B-     Extras: C     Concert: B-



One of the few survivors of the Progressive Rock (often dubbed “Prog Rock” as if it were so easy to marginalize) is the band Yes.  In one form or another, they keep cutting albums and releasing DVD material.  A 2000 concert from The House of Blues used to support The Ladder album, House Of Yes (not to be confused with the independently produced feature film of the same name) has been a successful release before and is back on the market.  The songs are:


1)     Yours Is No Disgrace

2)     Time & A Word

3)     Homeworld (The Ladder)

4)     Perpetual Change

5)     Lightning Strikes

6)     The Messenger

7)     Ritual-Nous Sommes Du Soleil

8)     And You & I

9)     It Will Be A Good Day (The River)

10)  Face To face

11)  Awaken

12)  Your Move/I’ve Seen All Good People

13)  Cinema

14)  Owner Of A Lonely Heart

15)  Roundabout



The performances are not bad, but are also too intimate in a way that cuts into the edge that the better songs are best known for.  Lead singer Jon Anderson still has the voice and sometimes sounds like he is a) trying to go the Frank Sinatra route, b) talk the lyrics as if to host his equivalent of Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood or c) trying to prove he still has the great voice he obviously has without trying.  Also, the band has pulled back a bit too much as well, which is a shame.  This is still a decent concert, but does not rank up with their very best, resulting in something hit and miss that even makes changes within the songs odd.


The letterboxed 16 X 9/1.78 X 1 image has its limits, but is somewhat color consistent.  I wonder what this would look like anamorphic, but only true High Definition playback will give us the full visual detail.  As for the sound, Dolby Digital 2.0 stereo with Pro Logic surround and a better 5.1 remix are here, but no DTS.  This has to sound a little better than either, but is also not bad for what it is.  Even a DVD-Audio or Super Audio CD of this would only be so much better, as it will not change my issues with some of the performances.  The best way outside of live to hear the band is still the better mixes on the DVD-Audio version of Fragile (1972) which Warner music issued a while ago and has yet to match with any more Yes albums in the format.  Extras include a video of Homeworld that boasts an early Music Video with a 5.1 mix, a still section, weblinks and The Making Of The Ladder featurette at over three minutes, followed by footage of Homeworld and If Only You Knew recording sessions, then has brief interview segments with the individual band members.  Fans will probably find this interesting, but others will also find something to enjoy in all this.  House Of Yes is not consistent, but is far from a total loss.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com