Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Soul > Ike & Tina Turner - Live In 71 (DVD/CD)

Ike & Tina Turner – The Legends Live In ‘71


Picture: C     Sound: B-     Extras: C-     Concert: B     CD sound: B



Fans of Tina Turner often prefer her older work with Ike, despite how abusive he was at that time, as they preferred the rough Soul to the Rock that made Private Dancer (1984) a classic.  However, much of that material is of covers of the more popular songs, but Ike & Tina Turner – The Legend Live In ’71 is even by Ike own admission the best “filmed” of all of their performances.  It is actually videotaped, but Ike is rarely this close to being right, so we’ll cut him a millisecond of slack.


The concert is Tina already together as an entity too powerful for even Ike to keep down, more musically able than when they began working together; complete with the classic showmanship she is now known for.  Backed by the Iketttes in all their Karate-dancing glory, the songs here appear on both DVD and CD as follows:




1)     Them Changes (DVD only)

2)     Sweet Inspiration

3)     I Want To Take You Higher

4)     Ooo Poo Pah Doo

5)     A Love Like Yours (Don’t Come Knockin’ Every Day)

6)     River Deep, Mountain High

7)     Come Together

8)     Honky Tonk Woman

9)     I Smell Trouble

10)  I Want To Take You Higher (Reprise)




1)     Sweet Inspiration

2)  I Want To Take You Higher

3)     Ooo Poo Pah Doo

4)     A Love Like Yours (Don’t Come Knockin’ Every Day)

5)     River Deep, Mountain High

6)     Come Together

7)     Honky Tonk Woman

8)     Proud Mary

9)     I’ve Been Loving You Too Long

10)  Respect (CD only)

11)  Land Of 1,000 Dances (CD only)

12)  I Smell Trouble

13)  I Want To Take You Higher (Reprise)



The double set is part of a new series of DVD/CD combos Eagle Vision has been wisely issuing from great artists on their roster.  For those who doubted Tina’s greatness, here it is going way back.  The CD offers more tracks, but to see Tina in action and be so great makes the DVD as much of a must-have.  Besides classics like Sweet Inspiration, I Want To Take You Higher, River Deep, Mountain High, Honky Tonk Woman, Proud Mary and the CD-only Respect, she comes up with another surprise remake that is nothing short of remarkable.  On the DTS Celebrate Eagle Rock DVD, it was of Sam & Dave’s Hold On (I’m A Comin’).  Here, it is an uncompromising cover of The Beatles’ Come Together, originally featuring the lead vocal of John Lennon.  Here, Tina matches his landmark vocal with a grasp of the song so deep in phrasing and form that it is jaw dropping.  Tina is coming from the same reality Lennon is and succeeds brilliantly where just about every other Beatles cover fails.  Tina’s version just will not quit.


The full frame 1.33 X 1 image has been restored as well as possible, with color improvements offsetting some detail loss, but this is better than the way it was.  The sound is here in Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo with some pro Logic surrounds and Dolby 5.1, but the best of the three is the DTS 5.1, though the sound in such a remix is able to only go so far.  Thus, we rate the CD just a tad higher, as no stronger 2.0 option is available on the DVD.  However, the CD still does not have some of the richness and LFE .1 subwoofer action of the DTS.  Which one is preferred will be up to you, the audience, but the CD is a bit more authentic.  The only extras are an interesting comparison of how the tape source for this concert looked before and after restoration and a 3-minutes-long clip of Ike & Tina from the film Soul To Soul, which Rhino just issued on DVD.


Nobody, not even Tina Turner’s home label of Capitol Records, has done more justice to her on DVD than Eagle Vision.  They have now released several DTS concerts, including a stunning remastered reissue of her awesome Live In Amsterdam concert (reviewed elsewhere on this site), but even more amazing is that much more material remains to be unearthed.  Until then, Ike & Tina Turner – The Legend Live In ’71 is one of the great music must-have sets that absolutely belongs in any and all serious music collections.  The best!



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com