Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Pop > Rock > Easy Listening > Firefall - Rock-N-Roll Greats (Concert)

Firefall Rock N Roll Greats (Concert)


Picture: B- Sound: B- Extras: D Concert: B-



In one of the better installments of the Rock N Roll Greats series from Passport, the laidback Pop/Rock band Firefall reunites as best they can with a show that runs just over an hour here and offers the following set:


1)     So Long

2)     Just Remember I Love You

3)     No Way Out

4)     Cinderella

5)     Sweet & Sour

6)     Goodbye I Love You

7)     You Are The Woman

8)     When The River Rises

9)     Strange Way

10) Mexico



Those who remember 1970s radio will especially remember tracks 2, 4, 7 and 9 and all will be surprise that these were hits for Atlantic Records when they had gone beyond their famed R&B roots. The fact of the matter is that the company was so smart and knew how to handle music in other genres as well. It is why many still like and remember Firefall to this day, even if they were just a good singles band. For this recent concert, the new configuration is not bad and does a decent job on performing the set. It is more than we could have expected and not bad for what we get.


The anamorphically enhanced 1.78 X 1/16 X 9 image is also not bad, though it is shot on video and has some softness in places. It is also one of the better transfers in this series. The Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo is weak and the 5.1 mix is barely above most Pro Logic mixes, but it fares well enough and the presentation is overall not bad in total. There are no extras.



- Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com