Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Pop-Easy Listening > Peter Cetera In Concert (Soundstage)

Soundstage Presents Peter Cetera In Concert


Picture: C+     Sound: B-     Extras: C     Concert: C+



Did Peter Cetera make the right decision when he left his longtime band Chicago?  Well, both have certainly survived without each other, so they obviously did not need each other, but it is also obvious it has never been the same for either since the split.  As a follow-up to Chicago’s appearance on the series Soundstage, we will look at the Peter Cetera installment.  Oddly, Amy Grant is more present than expected, performing the following set solo:


1)     Baby Baby

2)     Simple Things

3)     El-Shaddai


Cetera then shows up sometimes dueting with her on the following:


4)     One Good Woman

5)     Glory Of Love

6)     Restless Heart

7)     If You Leave Me Now

8)     After All

9)     The Next Time I Fall

10)  Baby, What A Big Surprise

11)  You’re The Inspiration

12)  Have You Ever Been In Love



Though it would be easy to blame Grant for this, the truth of the matter is that Cetera is far too laid back in his covers of his Chicago hits and does not fare much better on the newer solo material.  Cher is greatly missed on the After All duet she and Cetera did for the 1989 Robert Downey Jr./Cybill Shepherd romantic comedy Chances Are.  Cetera’s female backup singer just cannot cut it, which says something since Cher’s voice was not in its 1970s peak on the record.  Everything in general is done with limited vocal effort and little passion, making this a very disappointing concert overall.


The image is once again credited as 4 X 3 (1.33 X 1) full screen, yet the DVD case gleefully celebrates the fact that the show is shot on Hi(gh)-Definition video.  The problem, all current HD is 1.78 X 1 aka 16 X 9.  The result is we actually get a compromised reframing that is not anamorphic and looks like some lopsided version of 1.66 X 1, which defeats the whole purpose of shooting in HD to begin with.  That is unfortunate, but that’s what has been done here, so be forewarned.  The Dolby Digital 5.1 mix is better than the Dolby 2.0 with Pro Logic surrounds, but would have been better had it been in DTS.  Like German TV’s Ohne Filter series, many installments of which have been reviewed elsewhere on this site, the new Soundstage does its best to boast state-of-the-art playback.  This combination is passable, but not everything it could or should have been.  Extras include bio/discography of Cetera and Grant over three text frames without separation, a “backstage pass” feature that shows how the new show is set up that is interactive, an 18 frame stills gallery, a discography of Cetera’s solo work only, a band segment that only covers Grant & cetera (?!?) and three bonus tracks:


1)     25 Or 6 To 4

2)     Even A Fool Can See

3)     Hard To Say I’m Sorry



Even these add nothing to the DVD, with 25 Or 6 To 4 done not as the bombastic Pop classic the band did with him, or the mechanical disaster they charted with without him, but as a very laid back orchestral oddity that is the lamest version yet.  Overall, only diehard Cetera fans need apply.  I guess he left the band because he gave up on being exciting; something the band did far better in their Soundstage installment.  Judge for yourself.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com