Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Jazz > Stan Getz - The Last Recording (Concert)

Stan Getz - The Last Recording (DVD-Video Concert)


Picture: C+     Sound: B-     Extras: C-     Concert: B



Though no one knew it at the time, saxophonist Stan Getz performed what would be his last concert that was recorded in the aptly titles Stan Getz – The Last Recording, which happened in 1990.  He was gone a year later, but was best known for big “crossover” hits like Desafinado in 1962 and the legendary The Girl From Ipanema from 1964, with Astrud Gilberto on lead vocal.  The latter’s sudden revival in pop culture is amusing, leaving something to contemplate at a later date.


Neither of those Antonio Carlos Jobim compositions are in this set, but we do get:


1)     Apasionado

2)     On A Slow Boat To China

3)     Soul Eyes

4)     Espanola

5)     Coba

6)     Seven Steps To Heaven

7)     El Cahon

8)     Yours & Mine

9)     Voyage

10)  Lonely Lady

11)  Blood Count

12)  What Is This Thing Called Love

13)  People Time

14)  Amourous Cat



Some of those (1, 5, 6, 14) are Getz originals, co-written by Herb Alpert, Eddie del Barrio and for this concert, Getz and the band had a great audience.  The other five bandmates are Kenny Barron (piano), Frank Zottoli (synthesizer), Alex Blake (bass), Terri Lyne Carrington (drums), and Eddie del Barrio himself on synthesizer as well.  Though the box credits the length at 93 minutes, the concert is actually a longer 103 minutes in length, which shortchanges the content.  Hopefully, Geneon will correct this in the next batch of pressings.


The full frame 1.33 X 1 image is not bad for an old NTSC taping, but shows its age and having watched so many 16 X 9 concerts in several genres, had to adjust back to the “old square” as it were.  The source is clean, but obviously limited.  The sound is once again a choice between Dolby Digital 5.1 and PCM 16Bit/48kHz 2.0 Stereo, where the Dolby has some more depth and range, but is missing out on some of the fullness and choice detail that the PCM offers.  Though form an older recording, I wondered if DTS would have made a difference.  Likely, the answer is yes and a historic piece like this should get that treatment sometime.  The only extras are two segments of music-accompanied crawl on Getz career and a segment dubbed “liner notes” that could have been called liner quotes.  Still, they are good, if very basic.  This is the first of several titles from Getz on DVD-Video that we hope to cover and are available now.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com