Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Rock Concert > Blues > Rockabilly > The Blasters - Live: Going Home (DTS DVD)

The Blasters – Live: Going Home (DTS audio-only DVD version)


DTS 5.1: B     PCM 2.0 Stereo: B-     Extras: D     Music: B-



When we last checked into what Dave Alvin was doing, he was solo an had released an amazing Super Audio CD of his album Blackjack David through Mobile Fidelity Sound Labs.  You can read that review at:





That was a 1998 album released more recently in the upgraded format.  His band The Blasters had broken up way back in 1986.  Well, on August 23, 2003, the Rockabilly band that does 1950s Rock classics (or soundalikes thereof) as well, decided to reunite and The Blasters – Live: Going Home has been issued in two formats.  One, a DVD-Video with footage of the concert from Shout! Factory and this DVD-Video as DTS audio DVD from DTS Entertainment.  The tracks here, including five bonus selections, are:


1)     Marie Marie

2)     Real Rock Drive

3)     One Red Rose

4)     Border Radio

5)     Troublebound

6)     Crazy Baby

7)     Help You Dream

8)     Have Mercy Baby (above two with introductions by The Calvanes and The Medallions)

9)     No Other Girl

10)  Don’t You Lie To Me

11)  I’m Shakin’

12)  So Long Baby Goodbye

13)  Red Headed Woman (w/intro. by Sonny Burgess)

14)  Sadie’s Back In Town

15)  Wandering Eye (w/intro. by Billy Boy Arnold)

16)  I Ain’t Got You

17)  American Music

18)  One Bad Stud (w/intro. by The Calvanes and The Medallions)

19)  J.B. Lenoir Jam

20)  All Your Love

21)  Flip Flop & Fly



Most of these are Alvin originals and it turns out this was a one-shot reunion, which has the intensity to work.  It is just on the repetitive side, and non-fans might have some problems enjoying this beyond what sounds and feels like the usual extended exercise in older Rock, Country and Blues forms.  It is also a step backwards, even knowingly, for Alvin after such an impressive solo outing.  Going Home is good quality Rock, but it comes at a time when something more progressive and breakthrough would have been welcomer.  For what it is, it is not bad.


As for the sound, the PCM 2.0 48kHz/24Bit Stereo sound is a bit on the flat side for whatever reason.  The DTS 5.1 is a better mix, but after the DSD signal on Blackjack David and the lack of MLP sound on this disc, the DTS here seems secondary.  The back of the case nearly suggests the existence of MLP (Meridian Lossless Packing) on this disc, down to a “DVD-A” (DVD-Audio) marking, but this is not the case.  At least a DTS 96/24 mix would have been welcome, but this is sadly not a full-fledged DVD-Audio and maybe the recording was limited.  It sounds like it.  This not bad for what it is and is certainly better than the Dolby-only 5.1 mix on the regular DVD-Video, so fans who like audio fidelity will prefer this disc.  The only extra is a stills section with a few dozen shots and brief booklet inside the old-style CD jewel case, if you want to count that.  As I said, this is really for fans.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com