Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Rock > Music Video > The Rolling Stones - Singles: 1968 - 1971

The Rolling Stones   Singles: 1968 – 1971


Picture on bonus DVD: C+     DVD Sound: C+     DVD Content: C+     CD Sound: B

Music: B



The third and final chronological collection of CD Singles ABKCO Records is issuing on The Rolling Stones runs from 1968, when they are making another comeback, to just as they formed their own Rolling Stones Records label.  The CD single may be dead, but these special collections keep on surfacing, with as much quality and novelty.  Each CD single in this case looks like an old vinyl 45, down to the black plastic usually reserved for video game discs.  However, those unfamiliar can be guaranteed that they will play.


Included are reproductions of the single sleeves, which add to the collectability and luster of such a set.  Besides a fold-out poster, liner notes booklet and three photo cards to go with the nine CDs, there is a bonus DVD with three music performances and an extended and alternative version of The Neptunes’ remix of Sympathy For The Devil.  A previous version was included in the SACD remix disc issued not long after the early catalog titles were issued on SACD in one of the best catalog series to date in that format, reviewed elsewhere on this site.


The 10 playable discs are as follows:


1)     Jumpin’ Jack Flash/Child Of The Moon

2)     Street Fighting Man/No Expectations/Surprise Surprise/Everybody Needs Somebody To Love

3)     Honky Tonk Woman/You Can’t Always Get What You Want

4)     Memo From Turner/Natural Magic (from the film Performance)

5)     Brown Sugar/Bitch

6)     Wild Horses/Sway

7)     I Don’t Know Why/Try A Little Harder

8)     Out Of Time/Jiving Sister Fanny

9)     Sympathy For The Devil (original version, plus Neptunes, Fatboy Slim & Full Phatt remixes)


The DVD offers:


1)     Time Is On My Side (from The Ed Sullivan Show)

2)     Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby, Standing In The Shadow? (Live)

3)     Jumpin’ Jack Flash (original Michael Lindsay-Hogg promo Music Video)

4)     Sympathy For The Devil (Neptunes remix Music Video directed by Alex De Rakoff)



There is also the Musicnotes ® computer ROM section on CD 9, which allows you to access (if your PC will allow it) various types of sheet music, with options for more on line.  The fun plus is that the notes and lyrics are highlighted in red as the song plays on.  This is the next step after that old bouncing ball sing-along deal back in early sound films and film shorts.  This is a very nice bonus.


Those who are fans of either the great Nicolas Roeg (see The Man Who Fell To Earth reviewed elsewhere on this site) and/or Donald Cammell (Wolfen) will be surprised and happy with CD 4, which remains some of the best work Jagger has ever done solo and anything outside of the Stones just the same.  The film was finally issued in 1970 to capitalize on the band’s infamy, but is now considered a seminal counterculture alternative film work.  Jagger co-starred with James Fox in a story of murder, music and identity that would point much more to Roeg’s future work than Cammell’s films.  That film always surfaces monophonic, while here, the music is in solid stereo.  That adds a value to this set that is most unexpected.  If only a DVD of the film was available.


Altogether, The Rolling Stones Singles: 1968 – 1971 is a nicely produced collector’s item, including the same great sound from the newly restored music that made for such great SACDs.  It is also fun.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com