Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Standards > Showtunes > Broadway > Bernadette Peters In Concert (1998)

Bernadette Peters In Concert (Acorn Media/1998)


Picture: C+     Sound: C+     Extras: C-     Music: B-



Bernadette Peters is one of the great multi-talents of our time and a few years ago, she taped a concert of mostly showtunes.  Acorn has issued the 1998 Bernadette Peters In Concert in a somewhat basic DVD that has its moments and good singing.  The songs are as follows, after an introductory medley:


1)     We’re In The Money

2)     Broadway Baby

3)     No One Is Alone

4)     Sooner Or Later

5)     Unexpected Song

6)     Faithless Love

7)     Time Heals Everything

8)     Raining In My Heart

9)     Some People

10)  Johanna

11)  So Much Happiness

12)  Hello Little Girl

13)  Any Moment

14)  Later

15)  You Could Drive A Person Crazy

16)  Not A Day Goes By

17)  Being Alive

18)  With So Little To Be Sure Of

19)  Children Will Listen

20)  Move On

21)  I’ll Be Seeing You

22)  My Romance

23)  The Way You Look Tonight



You can tell she is a seasoned pro, going from song to song with more smoothness and ease than just about any living singer live.  With women vocalists in particular of late, we have had our disappointments (regardless of music genre) and she is as compelling as the best in the business.  That film and TV lost her to significant Broadway works of the likes of Stephen Sondheim in particular is mass media’s loss.  Most of the songs here are his.  Proving he is no slouch or has been, Bob Mackie delivers some great outfits for Peters, further enhancing her dynamic presence.


Though this was shot in digital High Definition, why this is framed at 1.33 X 1 instead of 1.78 X 1 is a big mystery, especially because Peters looks good and the HD shoot looks like it is better than the usual we have seen.  The Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo has limited surround information, but if they downtraded the image, we could expect the sound might have suffered as well.  Too bad this was not multi-channel or DTS, because the band is really good as well.  Extras include a bio on Peters, weblinks, stills and complete career credits.  Too bad there were not more music performances, but for what is here, Bernadette Peters In Concert is a solid 90 minutes.  Some of the songs are not as memorable, while others grow on you the more you listen to them.  Get a copy and see.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com