Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Rock > Progressive Rock > Multi-Channel Music > Porcupine Tree - Deadwing (DVD-Audio)

Porcupine Tree – Deadwing (DTS DVD-Audio)


Sound: B- (all formats)     Music: B-     Extras: C



The quest to bring back the old 1970s-style of Progressive Rock music is continuing in bits and pieces.  Porcupine Tree’s 2003 release In Absentia had some highlights, but had problems in which the band could not find their own sound or identity.  Now, two years later, the band is back with Deadwing and the situation has not changed.  If anything, it has become weirder.  The tracks are as follows:


1)     Deadwing

2)     Shallow

3)     Lazarus

4)     Halo

5)     Arriving Somewhere

6)     Mellotron Scratch

7)     Open Car

8)     Start Of Something Beautiful

9)     Glass Arm Shattering

10)  Revenant

11)  Mother & Child Divided

12)  Half-Light



The last three tracks are exclusive bonuses to this DVD-Audio disc, but they do not change anything about the direction or perception of the band.  The opening title song is too much like the opening of Yes’ classic album Fragile (a great album also on DVD-Audio, with mixes that are hit or miss), with the song starting quiet, then getting unexpectedly loud.  It does not work here, having additional audio and sonic problems to be addressed in a minute.


As the tracks progress, a sense of Pearl Jam seems to join all the previous aspirations.  I was interested to see where the band was gong when we heard about this new album, but it just never clicks.  The band sounds like the similarities between the albums, content to be where they are and not going any further anytime soon.  Hope the fans are happy, at least.


The audio is problematic in all three cases, all limited to 48khz/24Bits.  The PCM 2.0 Stereo is the most balanced, yet most limited of the three options.  The MLP tracks are a bit softer than expected, with some surround limits, while the DTS has more back end.  However, it is harsh and shrill in a way we have not heard DTS in a very long time.  This is noticed most on that opening track, but we warn you to not play the opening of the album too loud in any form, no matter which tracks you pick.  The softness can be deceiving.


Extras besides those bonus tracks including lyrics, stills, a preview clip for its release and featurette called Collecting Space covering the making of the album.  If you are curious about the band, you may want to start with the previous DVD-Audio In Absentia, which is reviewed elsewhere eon this site.  Both are issued by DTS Entertainment.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com