Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Folk > Rock > Political > Ani DiFranco - Trust

Ani DiFranco – Trust (DVD Video Concert)


Picture: C+     Sound: B-     Extras: D     Concert: B



Ani DiFranco was on her “Vote Dammit” tour when she decided to do a DVD of one of the appearances.  The result is Trust, from a May 11th and 12th 2004 concert from Club 9:30 in Washington D.C., which is appropriate for being so political.  Of course, DiFranco has always been uncompromisingly so, but it is a living approach to being realistic for her.  One of the only artists to have her own very successful record label, Righteous Babe Records, she was one of the first to buck the big labels long before the Internet became the popular alternative to either stream, download or sell music product.  The songs here include:


1)     Educated Guess

2)     Origami

3)     Modulation

4)     Coming Up

5)     Gravel

6)     Tip Toe

7)     Phase

8)     Platform

9)     Swim

10)  God’s Country

11)  Anticipate

12)  You Each Time

13)  Swan Dive

14)  Knuckledown

15)  Angry Anymore

16)  Manhole

17)  Little Plastic Castle

18)  Grand Canyon

19)  Evolve

20)  Shameless

21)  Callous



Obviously left of center, she is a fine singer/songwriter, but especially of the Folk tradition of Pete Seeger and the definite successor to Joan Baez in this respect.  She may not be the biggest woman in music, but she is one of the most important and having a DVD-Video of her in action is a nice addition to being able to access the artist and her work.  This is not her first DVD either, but is one she hoped would capture an explosion of youth voting and it instead becomes a record of a failed campaign to help the country.  At least she is uncompromisingly good here, with the program running just over 80 minutes long.


The 1.78 X 1 image is not of the highest fidelity and is letterboxed only, so expect limits.  The sound fares better with Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo and slightly better 5.1 mixes, which are not bad, but still seem to miss the mark in some way.  There are also more spoken parts than expected, but absolutely no extras, unless you count all the political parts.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com