Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Jazz > Classical > TV Series > Larry Coryell/Badi Assad/John Abercrombie - Paris Concert At New Morning

Larry Coryell/Badi Assad/John Abercrombie: Three Guitars

– New Morning: The Paris Concert


Picture: C+     Sound: B     Extras: D     Concert: C+



Though this program is dubbed Three Guitars, Larry Coryell, Badi Assad and John Abercrombie come together to play and in Miss Assad’s case, she adds singing, clapping, scatting, and other noises that will either enhance the music for you or repulse those expecting only guitar.  The songs in these 112 minutes are as follows:


1)     Ralph’s Piano Waltz

2)     Metamorphisis

3)     After The Rain

4)     Descending Grace

5)     Suspended Circles

6)     Exercise In Fourths

7)     Joana Francesa

8)     New Lute Prelude

9)     Soundtrack

10)  Blues

11)  Insensatez

12)  Timeless

13)  No Flight Tonight

14)  Transparence

15)  Seu Jorge & Dona Ica

16)  Frevo

17)  Corcovado



If you like extended Classical/Jazz guitar, then this is for you.  Otherwise, skip it.  The 1.78 X 1 letterboxed PAL color video is not bad, but not as good as the other 16 X 9 installment we have looked at so far: Billy Cobham’s Culturemix.  That as not anamorphic either, but this is just not as clear or sharp.  The sound is available in PCM CD-type 2.0 16bit/48kHz Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 AC-3 and especially decent DTS options.  There are no extras, though Miss Assad’s extras will do, unless they feel like Yoko Ono lite.


For more Coryell-related links, try these reviews:


Larry Coryell – A Retrospective



Super Guitar Trio




-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com