Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Jazz > Funk > TV Series > Roy Ayres (Ohne Filter DVD)

Roy Ayres (Ohne Filter)


Picture: C†††† Sound: B-†††† Extras: C+†††† Concert: B-



One of the major figures in the fusion of Jazz, Funk and electronic sounds, Roy Ayres has been around for decades making key music and being a musicianís musician.This installment of the German music TV series Ohne Filter from May 12, 1995 offers the man and a tight band playing some solid music as Ayres continues to be in his prime.The tracks include:


1)     Sweat Tears

2)     Canít You See Me

3)     Running Away

4)     Love Will bring Us Back Together

5)     Everybody Loves The Sunshine

6)     No Stranger To Love

7)     The Mission (Love Condition)

8)     Searching

9)     A Wee Bit



Ayres is also one of the better hosts and storytellers we have seen in the series to date.That adds to an already fine show that sadly only lasts for about an hour.


The full frame PAL color analog video is softer than usual for what would expect for a taping of the time.The sound is available in the usual PCM CD-type 2.0 16bit/48kHz Stereo, as well as a slightly stuffier Dolby Digital 5.1 AC-3, which both are good, if not the best in the series.The PCM is slightly better than the Dolby mix.Besides repeating the same stereo cords ad placement, other DVDs in the series, and Ohne Filter producer interview, it has a biography of Ayres and other interesting items about the various music scenes Fordís multi-talents and multi-genre reach cover.The content is best here.



-†† Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com