Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Rock > Pop > R&B > Country > Loggins & Messina - Sittin' In Again At The Santa Barbara Bowl (DVD + CD)

Loggins & Messina – Sitting In Again At The Santa Barbara Bowl

(DVD + CD versions)


Picture: B-     Sound: B-     Extras: B-     Main Concert: B-



Though Kenny Loggins is best know these days as a solo artist and for making some of the most bizarre music for hit motion pictures ever composed, he was originally a part of the hit duo Loggins & Messina.  Formed in 1970, their hits ran from 1972 – 1975.  He and Jim Messina had six hit albums and off the bat, Your Mama Don’t Dance was a huge Top 5 hit single.  A couple of smaller hits followed, but the albums were even stringer sellers among fans.  Now, 30 years later, the duo has reunited for Sittin’ In Again At The Santa Barbara, a new concert album on CD with much more to offer on DVD.


With no animosity obvious, the concert shows they still have just about all their capacities in tact from their peak decades ago, though those following Loggins enduring solo career know he had not gone away.  The songs are as follows, with the CD-only tracks marked by an*:


1)     Watching The River Run*

2)     House At Pooh Corner*

3)     Sailin’ The Wind

4)     Long Tail Cat

5)     Listen To A Country Song/Holiday Hotel*

6)     Changes*

7)     Back To Georgia*

8)     Trilogy: Lovin’ Me, Make A Woman Feel Wanted, Peace Of Mind*

9)     Your Mama Don’t Dance*

10)  A Love Song*

11)  Thinking Of You

12)  Kind Woman

13)  Be Free

14)  Same Old Wine*

15)  Growin’

16)  You Need A Man

17)  Vahevala*

18)  Angry Eyes*

19)  Nobody But You*

20)  Danny’s Song* (later a hit for Anne Murray)



The CD has a slightly different order for the tracks it retains.  The incentive is to get the DVD, but both are made available separately for fans and those who want one of the car (or like vehicle) and the other for home theaters.  They still have it for the most part, it just depends on if you like their music.  This is well performed in any case and those who like Loggins from his solo work or miss the duo will not be disappointed.  Others might enjoy it as a change of pace.


The anamorphically enhanced 1.78 X 1/16 X 9 image has a little more depth and detail than usual from a digital High Definition-shot concert, but the DTS mix and PCM tracks (on both the DVD and CD) are good.  However, the DTS is only slightly better than the 16Bit PCM tracks in either case.  Extras include booklets in both formats and the DVD has six bonus performances from a 1973 performance on the TV show The Midnight Special with Wolfman Jack.  Those songs are:


1)     My Music

2)     Danny’s Song

3)     Your Mama Don’t Dance

4)     You Need A Man

5)     Coming To You

6)     Sailin’ The Wind


A comparison of the duo at their peak then to the work now is interesting.  No, they do not have the energy they used to, but the talent remains.  Sittin’ In Again At The Santa Barbara is a reunion that works.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com