Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Rock > Metal > In Flames - Come Clarity (CD)

In Flames Come Clarity (CD)


Sound: B- Music: C+



For the kind of import Metal music In Flames represents, they also tend to offer the recent adjustments like talk-overs, female voices and other conventions that have put a permanent dent into the genre and Come Clarity (2006) has those later items interfere with the music every time it begins to get interesting. The tracks are:



1. Take This Life
2. Leeches
3. Reflect The Storm
4. Dead End
5. Scream
6. Come Clarity
7. Vacuum
8. Pacing Death's Trail
9. Crawl Through Knives
10. Versus Terminus
11. Our Infinite Struggle
12. Vanishing Light
13. Your Bedtime Story Is Scaring Everyone



There was not much clarity after listening to all this, though credit to lead singer Anders Friden for being able to sing the lyrics so hard and fast. However, the concept of the album, which is about awakening to the dark and ugly pain of the world around is effectively laid out. Too bad the band could not have paired things down a bit more, since the talent for the genre they play is there.


The PCM 2.0 16bit/44.1kHz Stereo is also not bad, but has a few clarity issues of its own. The music is supposed to sound a little muddy and rough, as is par for the genre, but if the sound could envelop the listener more, the lyrics and music would hit home a bit better. Otherwise, the band from Sweden will please most fans, even if it seems they are compromising unnecessarily to new conventions.



- Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com