Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Rock > Pop > Cavalier King - The Sun Revolutions (CD)

Cavalier King – The Sun Revolutions (CD)


Sound: B     Music: B-



Chris Taylor has taken on an interesting persona with the Cavalier King debut CD The Sun Revolutions, but the album is in the same “Emo Rock” mode that so many bands out there right now in the Rock (or is that post-Rock) genre.  The tracks are:


  1. Renegade
  2. Sun Revolution
  3. The Unprotected
  4. Angels Of Mar
  5. War Is On
  6. Champagne And Cocaine
  7. The Finest Hour
  8. Sun Revolutions (Reprise)
  9. Victory 25



With a set up and titles like that, you immediately think concept album or The Beatles, but Taylor is also bent more towards the direction of 1970s Progressive Rock than you would think.  With its Fantasy genre images of fare off lands and centuries-ago civilizations, it now seems more like it is imitating the Lord Of the Rings films than the rich literary tradition bands like Yes, King Crimson, The Moody Blues and others did in their day.  He still does a decent job of this, but ultimately, it cannot compete against the predecessors.  The music is good, but not memorable, while the lyrics ultimately do not add up to the big statement.  It even reminded this critic of the DGC band King Of Kings that did not manage to take off as expected, but it is still interesting enough to shrug the “Prog Rock” stereotype.


The PCM 2.0 16bit/44.1kHz Stereo is nicely recorded, with Taylor taking on the bulk of the instruments and his vocals in between the world of Emo and the command of a Greg Lake or Jon Anderson.  I guess you just have to hear this one to believe it, and that would not be a bad thing.  Maybe Taylor can build on this.  I’ll be waiting.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com