Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Country > Rock > Johnny Cash In Ireland (1993/DTS)

Johnny Cash In Ireland (1993/DTS)


Picture: C     Sound: B-     Extras: D     Concert: B



If you have doubt about how great Johnny Cash was before his comeback, you need look no further than Johnny Cash In Ireland, a February 11, 1993 TV performance that features all his classic hits, his family (including some Carter Family classic hit of their own) and fellow Country great (and survivor) Kris Kristofferson.  The songs are as follows:


1. Daddy Sang Bass (w/ Carter Family)
2. Keep On The Sunny Side (w/ Carter Family)
3. Georgia On A Fast Train (w/ John Carter Cash & Carter Family)
4. Ring Of Fire (w/ Carter Family)
5. Folsom Prison Blues
6. Get Rhythm
7. I Still Miss Someone
8. A Boy Named Sue
9. Ghost Riders In The Sky
10. Long Black Veil (w/ Kris Kristofferson)
11. Big River (w/ Kris Kristofferson)
12. Jackson (w/June Carter Cash)
13. Wabash Cannonball (w/ Carter Family)
14. Will The Circle Be Unbroken (w/The Carter Family)
15. Forty Shades Of Green (w/The Carter Family, Kris Kristofferson, Sandy Kelly)
16. I Walk The Line



What is amazing is how Cash just comes to life without a second thought as showman and performer as soon as he hits the stage.  He is a few steps ahead of the audience all the way and they love him all the way.  The chemistry and cohesion of Cash, The Carters and company is a sight to behold; something you rarely see with any performers today.  The talent, honesty, humor, fun and joy in every moment is a pleasure to watch and that is why it is a great thing that Universal Music issued this material as the renewed interest in Cash continues.


The 1.33 X 1 image was shot on analog videotape, NTSC or PAL, but color is as consistent as possible and the transfer is good.  It is just that the source material is older and may not have been preserved as well as could be.  The sound is here in PCM 2.0 16bit/48kHz Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 and DTS 5.1 mixes.  They are all about the same and the surviving audio has its brittleness, but has been cleaned up without ruining its integrity, which should make purists happy.  There are no extras, though a paper pullout with contents and stills is included.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com