Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Jazz > Albert Collins & The Icebreakers (Ohne Filter)

Albert Collins & The Icebreakers (Ohne Filter)


Picture: C+     Sound: B-     Extras: C+     Concert: B-



Though it is the older of two concerts Albert Collins did for Germany’s Ohne Filter series, taped January 31, 1985 (versus October 27, 1988), Albert Collins & The Icebreakers is the second DVD release in the series and on par with the other.  The songs in this set are as follows:



1)     Listen Here

2)     If Trouble Was Money

3)     Skatin’

4)     The Highway Is Like A Woman

5)     Brick

6)     That Thing I Used To Do

7)     I Got That Feeling

8)     Frosty



Three of the songs (#2, 7 and 8) repeat in the other concert, but are played well and fans will be happy with the consistent set.  Southside Johnny is a guest, something that does not happen too often in this series.  In both, Collins is in good form and you can read about the other DVD at the following link:





The 1.33 X 1 full frame analog PAL image is a bit soft and fuzzy, showing its age, but is color consistent enough to enjoy.  The Dolby Digital 5.1 AC-3 mix is not that much better than the clearer PCM 2.0 16/48 Stereo mix, both also showing the age of the recording, which offers somewhat of a lack of clarity versus newer concerts in the series.  The PCM here is better than the other Collins installment in the series, marginally enough to justify the higher rating.  The extras are the usual biography of the music act, as is on all Ohne Filter DVDs, as well as the same engineer interview, web link, producer interview, and guide to many other Ohne Filter concerts on DVD.  Did he ever appear again?



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com