Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Rock > New Wave > Pop > British > Tears For Fears – Elemental (CD)

Tears For Fears – Elemental (CD)


Sound: B     Music: B-



Alone in the early 1990s, for Roland Orzabal decided to continue the duo that was Tears For Fears without Curt Smith under their name and the result included the 1993 album Elemental.  A very self-reflective work, it feels and sounds paired down versus the peak work of the duo in the 1980s.  This 1993 album includes


1)     Elemental

2)     Cold

3)     Break It Down Again

4)     Mr. Pessimist

5)     Dog’s A Best Friend’s Dog

6)     Fish Out Of Water

7)     Gas Giants

8)     Power

9)     Brian Wilson Said

10)  Goodnight Song



In the mode of the early albums, it is an ambitious work and has its moments, but it is not the same without Smith and it did not get the audience it might otherwise have.  Orzabal’s voice is great and each performance is ambitious enough.  The title song is good and the songs that follow are intelligently written about something.  Eventually, this feels more like a solo album than that by a duo or group, but I found myself liking these tracks more than I thought I would.  Give it a try and you likely will too.


The PCM 16/44.1 2.0 Stereo is rich and clear for its time, begging the question, why did Universal not consider this (or any of their albums) for SACD and DVD-Audio release?  The production by Tim Palmer, Orzabal and Alan Griffiths (Orzabal and Griffiths wrote the material) is very good and holds up nicely so many years later.  Wonder if this would have been heard had Smith still been around.



For more great music by Tears For Fears, try these links:


Chronicles Set




Songs From The Big Chair – Deluxe Edition CD Set + Scenes From The Big Chair DVD




-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com