Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Pop > Soul > Mariah Carey The Adventures Of Mimi (Blu-ray Concert/Image Entertainment)

Mariah Carey The Adventures Of Mimi (Blu-ray Concert)


Picture: B Sound: B Extras: B- Concert: B-



The new Mariah Carey concert The Adventures Of Mimi joins a small group of music releases Image Entertainment has issued on Blu-ray, only months after its successful DVD set release. It was a decent concert, even if it turns out you might not like all the music, as our coverage will show at this link:





To recap, the 18 songs include:


1)     Its Like That

2)     Heartbreaker

3)     Dream Lover

4)     My All

5)     Shake It Off

6)     Vision Of Love

7)     Fly Like A Bird

8)     Ill Be There

9)     Fantasy

10) Dont Forget About Us

11) Always Be My Baby

12) Honey

13) I Wish You Knew

14) Cant Let Go

15) One Sweet Day

16) Hero

17) Make It Happen

18) We Belong Together

19) Butterfly (reprise)



So is it more enjoyable in Blu-rays capacity for better performance? For the most part, yes. The 1080i 1.78 X 1 digital High Definition image was shot in HD video and the minor flaws we saw on the DVD are more pronounced, but when the shots are on her and they shine, it is a real pleasure to watch. Again, there are some good camera angels and use of color that are almost demo quality for HD, but there was some odd banding at times. The sound is here in a PCM 5.1 mix that is a little better than the DTS 5.1 and Dolby 5.1 mixes from the DVD, while the PCM 16/48 2.0 Stereo is repeated. On the DVD, the PCM 2.0 was the best option, as those 5.1 mixes tend to be a bit out of balance and not quite creating the soundfield we have come to expect from other such concert releases. The PCM 5.1 has some of the same issues, including some integration problems, but just squeaks by as the best on both discs.


Extras include a jukebox feature, a karaoke function, Spike Lees silly comedy tie-in piece Lovers & Haters and a documentary on the tour. There is also a nice color booklet in the case with tech details and some nice pictures, plus this release adds a CD-ROM for fans to access more Mariah.



- Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com