Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Rock > Pop > Progressive Rock > British > The Moody Blues – Every Good Boy Deserves Favour + Seventh Sojourn (Universal Music CDs)

The Moody Blues – Every Good Boy Deserves Favour + Seventh Sojourn (Universal Music CDs)


Sound: B     Music Albums: B/B+



The first seven albums of The Moody Blues are considered their great early period, especially since they took a break after they were made.  Still their most prolific period, the albums have often received top rate treatment over the years from vinyl, to 1970s Quadraphonic releases, to Mobile Fidelity 24K Gold CDs to remastered CDs and Super Audio CDs from Europe.  The first five albums, Days Of Future Passed, In Search Of The Lost Chord, On The Threshold Of A Dream, To Our Children’s Children’s Children, A Question Of Balance, were issued in SACD a few years ago in the U.K. and some copies did make it to the U.S.


June 2008 sees those albums officially reissued in the U.S. officially with CD equivalents, but here is our original coverage of the SA-CDs as imports:





Now comes the final two albums of that original cycle and though they have been issued as SA-CDs we hope to get out hands on soon, Every Good Boy Deserves Favour (1971) and Seventh Sojourn (1972) are back as remastered CDs which we will look at now.


Every Good Boy Deserves Favour is a sort of sequel to A Question Of Balance and though it is a good album, I always found it the oddest of the albums, though it produced the hit The Story In Your Eyes and remains the third highest charting album they ever released.  There is something more abstract about the songs as a whole and though it is another fan favorite, I still cannot get into it as much.  Maybe the SA-CD version will offer something this one does not.  The tracks include:


1)     Procession

2)     The Story In Your Eyes

3)     Our Guessing Game

4)     Emily’s Song

5)     After You Came

6)     One More Time To Live

7)     Nice To Be Here

8)     You Can Never Go Home

9)     My Song



Seventh Sojourn brought the band back to a more Rock oriented state of mind and they were starting to develop with A Question Of Balance and the result is the biggest album in the band’s long history, including being #1 for over a month, sporting two of their greatest hits (tracks 2 & 4 below) and so strong that you can see why they took a definitive break.  The songs include:


1)     Lost In A Lost World

2)     New Horizons

3)     For My lady

4)     Isn’t Life Strange

5)     You & Me

6)     The Land Of Make-Believe

7)     When You’re A Free Man

8)     I’m Just A Singer (In A Rock & Roll Band)



At this point, the band showed that they were more than the peers of bands of the time like Yes or Emerson, Lake & Palmer, but at the time these albums were hits, Days Of Future Passed suddenly received a new boost from the huge revival in airplay of Nights In White Satin, pushing Sojourn up the charts and making Days (where the song came from) just as famous and successful an album.  It is a peak of success for an artistically uncompromised band so rare, that it puts The Moody Blues in the company of a small handful of acts, including The Beatles.



The PCM 2.0 16/44.1 Stereo on both CDs is good and is decent sounding, but after the first five SA-CD releases sounded so clear and detailed, this can actually sound compressed at times.  Sojourn was previously issued as a 5.1 DTS-only CD years ago and that sounds better than the CD here.  They sound good for their format, but I wonder how they would compare to the Gold CD versions.


For more on the band, try this HD-DVD (due out soon on Blu-ray) of one of their recent concerts:





-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com