Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > George Benson – Absolutely Live (Eagle DVD)

George Benson – Absolutely Live (Eagle DVD)


Picture: C+     Sound: B     Extras: C     Concert: C+



George Benson is one of those singer/musicians who has survived in the music industry for decades and logged some interesting hits in the 1970s into the early 1980s, but has exceeded his work and always been considered a consummate musician.  I am not his biggest fan, but respect his work, like some of it and was reminded how good he was once again with the DVD release of George Benson – Absolutely Live on DVD.


The songs include:


1)     All Of Me

2)     I Only Have Eyes For You

3)     Beyond The Sea

4)     Deeper Than You Think

5)     Hipping The Hop

6)     Lately

7)     The Ghetto

8)     In Your Eyes

9)     Moody’s Mood

10)  Danny Boy

11)  This Masquerade

12)  Breezin’

13)  Love X Love

14)  Turn Your Love Around

15)  Never Give Up On A Good Thing

16)  Give Me The Night

17)  On Broadway



The next to last song is one I really like and wish he had more such songs, but more often, his hits have been less creative, though still above most music, especially considering what we get today.  Joe Sample even joins him and this 2000 taping is pretty good.


The anamorphically enhanced 1.78 X 1 is soft with some motion blur, but color is often good, even when depth seems limited.  The DTS 5.1 mix is better than the Dolby Digital 5.1 and 2.0 mixes with good surrounds, decent soundfield and rich fullness.  Extras include the usual booklet with an essay Eagle includes in all of their releases, plus a text biography, stills and making of featurette.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com