Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Jazz > Lee Shaw Trio – Live At Graz (2007/Islandview Records DVD/CD)

Lee Shaw Trio – Live At Graz (2007/Islandview Records DVD/CD)


Picture: C-     Sound: B     Extras: C     Concert: C+



In what is becoming a glut of Blues and Jazz material, Lee Shaw Trio – Live At Graz features yet another talented group dong material that is good, but not great.  The tracks (minus intros) include:


1)     Easy Walker

2)     Song Without Words

3)     Elegy

4)     Rain Threads

5)     Street Of Dreams

6)     Foots

7)     Stan’s Song

8)     Night Mist Blues



The sound is PCM on both formats, but the complete concert is only on CD, which is not that memorable, no matter how well-played.  The DVD is especially odd with video often taken from a camera phone and of shockingly poor quality, plus for the room the DVD has, little extra material is even on there, so the Trio has missed a golden opportunity to show themselves at their best and this set even has a paper pullout where there should be a booklet.


Better luck next time.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com