Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Concert > Pop > Rock > Rob Thomas – Something To Be Tour: Live At Red Rocks (E1 DVD)

Rob Thomas – Something To Be Tour: Live At Red Rocks (E1 DVD)


Picture: C+     Sound: C+     Extras: C-     Concert: C+



If one thing can be said about Rob Thomas, it is that he can sing and his voice has held up well during a career that was really launched with his band Matchbox 20 and has continued during his solo career and many collaborations.  However, none of his material particularly appeals to me and I was again reminded of this when watching the new DVD of his Something To Be Tour: Live At Red Rocks from E1 Entertainment.


As originally shown on PBS, the tracks include:


1)     Something To Be

2)     Fallin’ To Pieces

3)     If You’re Gone

4)     When The Heartache Ends

5)     Ever The Same

6)     Not Just A Woman

7)     3AM

8)     You Won’t Be Mine

9)     The Difference

10)  Bent

11)  Problem Girl

12)  Let’s Dance

13)  Lonely No More

14)  I Am An Illusion

15)  Now Comes the Night

16)  Smooth

17)  You Know Me

18)  This Is How A Heart Breaks



Reading them I cannot even remember them, but I do remember he sang them well and fans at least will be pleased.  It is also a decent introduction to his singing, but I hoped for more and was not that impressed overall.


The anamorphically enhanced 1.78 X 1 digital High Definition image is colorful, originated on HD video and is softer than I would have liked it to be, while the Dolby Digital 5.1 mix sadly offers a limited dynamic range unacceptable for a newer concert, though you can hear him sing.  A color booklet is included in the paperboard case.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com