Fulvue Drive-In.com
Current Reviews
In Stores Soon
In Stores Now
DVD Reviews, SACD Reviews Essays Interviews Contact Us Meet the Staff
An Explanation of Our Rating System Search  
Category:    Home > Reviews > Rock > Pop > Music Videos > The Very Best Of Don Henley (2009/Geffen Records DVD/CD Set)

The Very Best Of Don Henley (2009/Geffen Records DVD/CD Set)


Picture: C     Sound: C+/C-     Extras: C     Compilation: B-



As a member of The Eagles, Don Henley is part of one of the most successful bands and music acts in history, with critical and commercial success that includes their last album being another #1 chart-topper (as many as Led Zeppelin now) and more #1 singles than any U.S. band according to Billboard Magazine.  But Henley also has a successful solo career and The Very Best Of Don Henley (2009) is a sampling of his work since he went solo after the band’s original break up in with a hit Stevie Nicks duet and his 1982 solo album I Can’t Stand Still.


Though not as rich as an anthology would be and missing some key songs, the DVD/CD set is an adequate introduction to some good material, but not as good as it could have been.  The songs on the CD are as follows:


1)     Dirty Laundry

2)     The Boys Of Summer

3)     All She Wants To Do Is Dance

4)     Not Enough Love In The World

5)     Sunset Grill

6)     The End Of Innocence

7)     The Last Worthless Evening

8)     New York Minute

9)     I Will Not Go Quietly

10)  The Heart Of The Matter

11)  Everybody Knows

12)  For My Wedding

13)  Everything Is Different Now

14)  Taking You Home


#1 is the only track form the debut album, #2 – 5 are from what remains his best album, Building The Perfect Beast (which deserves a Deluxe Edition double CD Set), #6 is the title song to solo album three with tracks from it going all the way to #10 here, #11 is one of the new songs from the Actual Miles hits set and the remainder come from the decent Inside Job album.  Tracks #5 and #13 revisit the territory of Hotel California and Henley finds a more personal style with each album.


The DVD features six music videos, including “The Boys Of Summer” directed by Jean-Baptiste Mondino (Madonna), “All She Wants To Do Is Dance” directed by Steve Barron (Fleetwood Mac, Michael Jackson, A-ha, The Human League, Joe Jackson), “The Last Worthless Evening” directed by Matthew Rolston (En Vogue, Crystal Waters, Garbage), “The Heart Of The Matter” directed by Geoffrey Barish (Chris Isaak), “Everything Is Different Now” directed by Pedro Romhanyi (Blur, Pulp, Propellerheads featuring Shirley Bassey) and “For My Wedding”.  Missing key videos include “Not Enough Love In The World” by Timothy Hutton, “The End Of The Innocence” by David Fincher and “The Garden Of Allah” by Jake Scott staring Kirk Douglas.


As a final bonus, songs Henley did for motion pictures are also included: Love Rules (from Fast Times At Ridgemont High), Who Owns This Place (from The Color Of Money), Sit Down, You're Rockin' the Boat (from Leap Of Faith) and Through Your Hands (from Michael) minus any video, though Music Videos exist for some of them.


The 1.33 X 1 image on the DVD is softer throughout than it should be, coming from older analog transfers of videos shot on film (likely 35mm) and should look far better than this.  The Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo sound on all DVD tracks is very weak, so be careful of playing this at high volumes and of volume switching.  The PCM 2.0 16/44.1 Stereo on the CD is better, but not by much and sound overall is also disappointing, especially as so many Eagles video releases have been so good.  The only other extra is a booklet on the set with tech information and a brief essay by Paul Gambaccini.



-   Nicholas Sheffo


 Copyright © MMIII through MMX fulvuedrive-in.com